Community Foundation Celebrates Nonprofit Professionals

Published: September 6, 2022 | By: Greater Cedar Rapids Community Foundation | Category:

On Thursday, September 8, the Greater Cedar Rapids Community Foundation will host the Nonprofit Party at the Lodge to celebrate Linn County nonprofit professionals. All nonprofit employees are invited to attend the party at Wanatee Park’s Prairie Oak Lodge from 4:30 to 6 p.m. Complimentary appetizers and drinks will be served. 

“This is a chance for us to recognize the work nonprofit professionals do every day to support our community,” said Carrie Walker, Nonprofit Network Manager at the Community Foundation. “It’s also a chance for them to relax and connect with colleagues.” 

At the event, Spirit of Minnie Rubek honorees will be recognized for going above and beyond in service to the community. Named after an early Community Foundation donor who had a quiet but lasting impact, the Spirit of Minnie Rubek recognizes those that quietly work to strengthen Linn County. The honor was introduced last year, but the 2021 Nonprofit Party was cancelled due to rising COVID cases. This year, 22 nonprofit professionals were submitted for the honor by their nonprofit employer. Linn County nonprofit organizations were invited to submit one nonprofit employee who exhibits the Spirit of Minnie Rubek for the recognition. 

The 2022 Spirit of Minnie Rubek honorees include: 

Brad Bezilla, Balance Autism Cedar Rapids 

Kim Brown, Foundation 2 Crisis Services 

Abbie Covenah, United Way of East Central Iowa 

Dawn D’Amico, Horizons A Family Service Alliance 

Sarah Dawson, Hawkeye Area Council, Boy Scouts of America 

Amber Franzen, Aging Services 

Mugisha Gloire, United We March Forward 

Janet Gross, Central Furniture Rescue 

Bob Hebl, Discovery Living, Inc. 

Jackie Lee, Waypoint 

Margie Leonard, His Hands Free Clinic 

Laura Martin, Kids First Law Center 

Dave Mather, St. Paul’s United Methodist Church & Foundation 

Achissa Mushimiyimana, Catherine McAuley Center 

Jill O’Hara, Eastern Iowa Health Center – Dental Health Clinic 

Tora Phelps, The Arc of East Central Iowa 

Jackie Stallman, Metro Catholic Outreach 

Chelsey Steckly, YPN 

Karen Takes, Tanager Place 

Clint Twedt-Ball, Matthew 25 

Michelle Waldron, Junior Achievement of Eastern Iowa 

Dianne Wasson, Mercy Medical Center 

For more information on the 2022 Spirit of Minnie Rubek honorees and how they have impacted the community, click here 

To RSVP for the event, click here.

Join us for our 75th Anniversary celebrations and complete our community survey.